Premier League goal leaders 2023-24: Who will win the Golden Boot? Haaland has company this season

Who is chasing Erling Haaland for the Premier League Golden Boot?

( MORE: Premier League Schedule 2023-24: Fixtures, Results )

Haaland has missed quite a bit of time with a nagging ankle injurygrowing the list of potential winners as the season deepened into its thick second half.

A run of two goalless starts in the Premier League opened the door a bit, but Haaland scored twice in April to reach 20 for the second successive Premier League season. However, the Golden Boot lead evaporated when Cole Palmer buried four goals in Week 33 against Everton to level with Haaland injured again and added another against West Ham to take his tally to 21, with four behind Haaland.. Newcastle’s Alexander Isak has since also climbed to 20 goals.

That came after Haaland returned from the bench in Week 35 at Nottingham Forest to score a league-best 21st, regaining sole possession of top spot. He then scored 22, 23, 24 and 25 against the Wolves in Week 36.

Ollie Watkins has 19 for the season and the Aston Villa forward has registered a Premier League-high 12 assists to continue his incredible campaign.

Who else is in the running?

For a while, it was a wide-open battle for the right to become the Premier League Golden Boot winner for the 2023-24 season. Dominic Solanke and Mohamed Salah each got 18 over the line, while Heung-min Son grabbed 17 in Week 36 at Liverpool. Phil Foden, Bukayo Saka and Jarrod Bowen all have 16.

Next is Nicolas Jackson and his 13 goals, followed by Chris Wood, Hee-chan Hwang and Kai Havertz with 12. Darwin Nunez, Leandro Trossard, Jean-Philippe Mateta, Richarlison and Matheus Cunha with 11. Seven more players scored in double figures. -number goals.

It’s fair to say that Haaland has a lot more competition this season even with Harry Kane off to Germany (and edging out Haaland for the European Golden Shoe). Haaland won the 2022-23 Golden Boot with Manchester City when he scored 36 goals to set a new Premier League single-season record and will be aiming to do it again this season.

Here are the top goalscorers as we enter the final stretch of the 2023-24 Premier League season.

Is there a tie for the Golden Ice?

No, if multiple players level up in the Golden Boot leaderboard, they share the prizes.

Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang, Sadio Mane and Mohamed Salah all scored 22 goals in 2018-19, while Carlos Tevez and Dimitar Berbatov shared the honors with 20 goals in 2010-11.

Michael Owen was part of back-to-back Golden Boot shares, breaking with Chris Sutton and Dion Dublin in 1997-98 and Dwight Yorke and Jimmy Floyd Hasselbaink the following season.

Premier League Goal Leaders 2023-24

  1. Erling Haaland, Manchester City — 25 years old
  2. Cole Palmer, Chelsea – 21 years old
  3. Alexander Isak, Newcastle United — 20
  4. Ollie Watkins, Aston Villa — 19
  5. Dominic Solanke, Bournemouth — 18 years old
  6. Mohamed Salah, Liverpool – 18 years old
  7. Heung-min Son, Tottenham – 17 years old
  8. Phil Foden, Manchester City – 16 years
  9. Jarrod Bowen, West Ham United – 16 years old
  10. Bukayo Saka, Arsenal – 16
  11. Nicolas Jackson, Chelsea — 13
  12. Chris Wood, Nottingham Forest – 12
  13. Kai Havertz, Arsenal – 12
  14. Hee-chan Hwang, Wolverhampton Wanderers – 12
  15. Darwin Nunez, Liverpool – 11
  16. Matheus Cunha, Wolves – 11
  17. Jean-Philippe Mateta, Crystal Palace — 11
  18. Leandro Trossard, Arsenal – 11
  19. Richarlison, Tottenham Hotspur – 11
  20. Anthony Gordon, Newcastle United – 10
  21. Yoane Wissa, Brentford – 10
  22. Leon Bailey, Aston Villa – 10
  23. Diogo Jota, Liverpool – 10
  24. Bruno Fernandes, Manchester United – 10
  25. Carlton Morris, Luton Town – 10
  26. Julian Alvarez, Manchester City — 10
  27. Douglas Luiz, Aston Villa – 9
  28. Elijah Adebayo, Luton Town – 9
  29. Rodrigo Muniz, Fulham – 9
  30. Callum Wilson, Newcastle United – 9
  31. Joao Pedro, Brighton – 9
  32. Martin Odegaard, Arsenal – 8
  33. Bryan Mbeumo, Brentford – 8
  34. Luis Diaz, Liverpool – 8
  35. Eberechi Eze, Crystal Palace — 8
  36. Antoine Semenyo, Bournemouth — 8
  37. Rasmus Hojlund, Manchester United – 8
  38. Scott McTominay, Manchester United – 7
  39. Marcus Rashford, Manchester United – 7
  40. Mohammed Kudus, West Ham United – 7
  41. Rodri, Manchester City – 7
  42. Alejandro Garnacho, Manchester United – 7
  43. Odsonne Edouard, Crystal Palace — 7
  44. Michael Olise, Crystal Palace – 7
  45. Justin Kluivert, Bournemouth – 7
  46. Dominic Calvert-Lewin, Everton – 7
  47. Declan Rice, Arsenal – 7
  48. Cody Gakpo, Liverpool – 7

List of Premier League hat-tricks, 2023-24 season

Haaland, Heung-min Son and Evan Ferguson scored hat tricks in Week 4 alone.

Ollie Watkins got one in Week 7, and the most recent came from Eddie Nketiah in Week 10.

Nicolas Jackson scored three in Chelsea’s win over 9-man Spurs in Week 11.

Dominic Solanke bagged three for Bournemouth in a 3-2 win over 10-man Forest in Week 18.

Chris Wood had a Boxing Day himself, grabbing three for Nottingham Forest against former club Newcastle in Week 19.

Elijah Adebayo scored three goals in Luton Town’s 4-0 win over Brighton to lift the Hatters out of the relegation zone.

Wolves’ Matheus Cunha completed his hat-trick in Week 23 at Chelsea with a late penalty.

Phil Foden scored three goals in the first 70 minutes of Manchester City’s Week 23 match at Brentford.

Jarrod Bowen scored three times as West Ham came out of a slump to beat Brentford in Week 26.

Foden got his second hat trick of the season in Week 31 against Aston Villa.

Cole Palmer scored early and then twice in stoppage time Chelsea came back to beat Manchester United 4-3 at Stamford Bridge in Week 31.

Cole Palmer got his second hat trick within 30 minutes of the clash between Chelsea and Everton in Week 33, finishing the match four goals after a second-half penalty.

Erling Haaland’s second hat trick of the season may have sealed another Golden Boot win against Wolves in Week 36.

Related Articles

Back to top button