World Snooker Championship 2024 schedule, results and order of play from the Crucible

The 2024 World Snooker Championship draws to a close after 17 days of action at the Crucible Theater in Sheffield, before the champion is crowned on Monday night.

Ronnie O’Sullivan entered the tournament on the brink of history as he bid to claim a record eighth Crucible world title and break Stephen Hendry’s current tie of seven for most World Championships in the modern era, but fell to a shock quarter-final defeat of Wednesday’s final.

The 48-year-old has had a sensational season, having already won the British Championship and the Masters, meaning victory in Sheffield would not only have given him eight titles from each of snooker’s three biggest events, but the -he would have seen himself become only the fourth man. – after Hendry, Steve Davis and Mark Williams – to win all three Triple Crown events in a single season. However, O’Sullivan lost a thrilling match 13-10 to 2015 champion Stuart Bingham.

World number two Judd Trump also fell at the quarter-final stage, blundering in a 13-9 loss to qualifier Jak Jones. The Welshman defeated Bingham in the semi-finals, while in the other half of the draw, Kyren Wilson overcame David Gilbert in the final four.

Luca Brecel won the World Snooker Championship title in Sheffield last year (PA wire)

Here’s everything you need to know about the World Championship, including the schedule and results, while you can find it predictions and tips for the tournament here:

When is the World Snooker Championship?

The World Snooker Championship kicked off at the Crucible Theater in Sheffield on Saturday 20th April and finishes on Monday 6th May.

How can I watch it?

The entire championship will be live on the BBC, with BBC Two, BBC Four, the BBC Red Button, BBC iPlayer and the BBC Sport website showing every match over the 17 days. The tournament is also broadcast on Eurosport in the UK. Subscribers can also stream the match online via the Discovery+ app.

If you’re traveling abroad and want to watch major sporting events, you may need a VPN to unblock your streaming app. Our VPN roundup is here to help and includes offers for VPNs in the market. Viewers using a VPN should ensure that they comply with any local regulations where they are located and also the terms of their service provider.

How much is the prize fund?

The World Championship is snooker’s richest prize, with players sharing a total prize pool of £2,395,000. The winner will receive £500,000, with runners-up earning £200,000 and the losing semi-finalists £100,000 each.

An additional £15,000 is available to the player with the highest break (including the qualifying stage), while two maximums in any of the three Triple Crown events this season will be rewarded with a £147,000 bonus.

What is the tournament format?

  • First round – best of 19 frames played over two sessions
  • Second round and quarter-finals – best of 25 frames played over three sessions
  • Semi-finals – best of 33 frames over four sessions.
  • Final – best of 35 frames over four sessions

World Snooker Championship results

First round

Tom Ford 10-6 Ricky Walden

Stephen Maguire 10-7 Ali Carter

Judd Trump 10-5 Hossein Vafaei

Jack Jones 10-4 Zhang Anda

David Gilbert 10-9 Luca Brecel

Shaun Murphy 10-5 Liu Haotian

Joe O’Connor 10-6 Mark Selby

Robert Milkins 10-9 Pang Junxu

And Jiahui 10-9 Mark Williams

Stuart Bingham 10-5 Gary Wilson

Ryan Day 10-8 Barry Hawkins

Mark Allen 10-6 Robbie Williams

Jack Lisowski 10-9 Ding Junhui

Kyren Wilson 10-1 Dominic Dale

John Higgins 10-6 Jamie Jones

Ronnie O’Sullivan 10-1 Jackson Page

The second round

Judd Trump 13-7 Tom Ford

David Gilbert 13-4 Robert Milkins

Jack Jones 13-9 And Jiahui

Stephen Maguire 13-9 Shaun Murphy

Kyren Wilson 13-6 Joe O’Connor

Ronnie O’Sullivan 13-7 Ryan Day

John Higgins 13-12 Mark Allen

Stuart Bingham 13-11 Jack Lisowski

Quarter finals

Jack Jones 13-9 Judd Trump

David Gilbert 13-8 Stephen Maguire

Kyren Wilson 13-8 John Higgins

Stuart Bingham 13-10 Ronnie O’Sullivan


Kyren Wilson 17-11 David Gilbert

Jack Jones 17-12 Stuart Bingham

Future schedule

Monday 6 May – Final (Best of 35)


Kyren Wilson 11-6 Jak Jones

7 pm

Kyren Wilson vs Jak Jones

Related Articles

Back to top button