What time are the results of the local and mayoral elections announced?

Rishi Sunak is bracing himself for another tough day after initial local election results saw the Tories lose across the country, despite his party managing to hang on to the Tees Valley mayoralty.

On Friday, Keir Starmer hailed a “seismic” victory in the Blackpool South by-election, where the party secured a 26.33% swing, with Labor also picking up council wins across the country.

The election is seen as a test of Sunak’s leadership. His party is trailing in the polls and his personal ratings are significantly behind Starmer’s.

On Friday morning, the Conservative Party chairman appealed to Tory MPs to “wait for the weekend”, insisting that Sunak was the “right man” to lead the party.

Key mayoral results due on Saturday include the results of the London mayoral race, in which Labour’s Sadiq Khan is defending his seat against the Tories’ Susan Hall – with polls suggesting it could be a tight race.

Of the 2,636 councilor elections in 107 English councils, Labor and the Conservatives each defended around 1,000 seats.

And with 102 of 107 councils already convened, the Tories have suffered a major blow.

Each council taking part in the election will reveal its results when all the votes have been counted. There is no uniform time when each result comes. Most were announced on Friday, May 3, with the full count expected to be completed by Sunday.

The London Assembly and Manchester Council winners will be announced on Saturday afternoon.

Where this year's local elections are taking place.  (BYE)Where this year's local elections are taking place.  (BYE)

Where this year’s local elections are taking place. (BYE)

11 mayors are elected in England this year, the largest in London, Manchester and the West Midlands.

Several of the regions are electing their first mayor after the government significantly expanded the scheme in recent years. These are: East Midlands, York and North Yorkshire and the North East.

Here are the announcements that have already been announced as of 4pm on Saturday:

  • Tees Valley Conservative Ben Houchen re-elected

  • York and North Yorkshire, Labor David Skaith elected

  • North East, Labour’s Kim McGuiness elected

  • East Midlands, Labour’s Claire Ward elected

  • South Yorkshire – Labor Oliver Coppard re-elected

  • Liverpool – Labor Steve Rotheram re-elected

  • West Yorkshire – Labor’s Tracy Brabin re-elected

  • Greater Manchester – Labor’s Andy Burnham re-elected

  • London – Labour’s Sadiq Khan re-elected

  • Salford – Labour’s Paul Dennett re-elected

Here’s when the remaining primary results are expected:

Fourteen London constituencies will also be announced, along with the full London list, which will elect a further 11 assembly members.

A further eight police and crime commissioners will be announced.

On Sunday, the final council in 107, Salford, will declare, along with the final PCCs, Sussex and Kent.

The mayoral elections take place today.  (BYE)The mayoral elections take place today.  (BYE)

The mayoral elections take place today. (BYE)

Here are the voting times for the local, mayoral and police and crime commissioner elections held in England and Wales on 2 May.


– 12.30pm (May 3) Broxbourne

– 1:30 Hartlepool, Rochford, Sunderland

– 2 am Bolton, Gosport, Ipswich, Newcastle-upon-Tyne, North East Lincolnshire, South Tyneside, Wigan

– 2.30: Chorley, Eastleigh, Fareham, Hart, Oldham, Portsmouth, Rushmoor, Southend-on-Sea

– 2:45 Exeter

– 3:00 Harlow, Kingston-upon-Hull, Lincoln, Sefton, Tameside, Thurrock

– 3:15 a.m. Reading

– 3:30 Colchester, Gateshead, Redditch, Stockport

– 4 am Peterborough, Plymouth

– 4.30am Southampton

– 5:30 Winchester

Police and Crime Commissioners:

– 1:30 Cumbria

– 2:30 Avon & Somerset

– 3am Lincolnshire


– 11:00 Norwich

– 12pm Blackburn v Darwen, Walsall

– 12.30pm Castle Point, Havant

– 1pm Cannock Chase, Manchester, Watford, Welwyn Hatfield

– 1.30pm Burnley, Preston, Sheffield, West Oxfordshire

– 2pm Basildon, Brentwood, Hyndburn, Knowsley, Nuneaton & Bedworth, Rossendale

– 2.30pm Crawley, Rochdale, Solihull

– 3pm Barnsley, Hastings, Kirklees, Maidstone, Rotherham, Three Rivers

– 3.30pm Halton, Milton Keynes, Sandwell, Trafford

– 16:00 Adur, Bury, Calderdale, Cheltenham, Epping Forest, Pendle, St Albans, Swindon, Tunbridge Wells, Woking, Wokingham

– 4.30pm Dudley, Leeds, Wakefield

– 17:00 Basingstoke & Deane, Bradford, Cambridge, Coventry, Oxford, Runnymede, Tandridge, Worthing

– 5.30pm Rugby, Wolverhampton, Worcester

– 17.45 Cherwell

– 6pm Mole Valley, North Hertfordshire, Reigate & Banstead, Stevenage, Tamworth

– 18.30 Bristol, Elmbridge

– 19:00 Dorset

– 8pm West Lancashire

– 22:00 Gloucester


– 12:00 PM Eastern

– 12.30 Tees Valley

– 2.30pm East Midlands

– 3pm York and North Yorkshire

Police and Crime Commissioners:

– 13:00 Gwent, North Wales

– 1.30pm Humberside

– 2pm Cambridgeshire and Peterborough, Hampshire, Suffolk

– 3pm Bedfordshire, Devon and Cornwall, Dyfed-Powys, Norfolk, Surrey

– 3.30pm Leicestershire

– 4pm Essex, Lancashire, Northamptonshire, South Wales, Staffordshire

– 16.30 Northumbria

– 17:00 Cleveland, Durham, Gloucestershire, Nottinghamshire

– 18:00 Derbyshire, West Mercia

3. Saturday, May 4


– 4pm North Tyneside, Stroud, Warrington


– 12:00pm Liverpool City Region

– 13:30 London*

– 14:00 South Yorkshire

– 3pm West Midlands

– 15.15 West Yorkshire

– 4pm Greater Manchester

– 17:00 Salford

*London mayoral constituency results will be declared first at each of the 14 counts in the capital. An official announcement of the overall result will be made at City Hall later in the day. 1:30pm is an estimate of when the general result is likely to have become clear from the constituency results and is not an estimate of the time of the official announcement at City Hall.

Police and Crime Commissioners:

– 12:00 Hertfordshire

– 14:00 Thames Valley

– 14.30 Warwickshire, West Midlands

– 3pm Cheshire, Dorset

– 3.30pm Merseyside

– 4pm Wiltshire

4. Sunday, May 5


– 15:00 Salford

Police and Crime Commissioners:

– 3.30pm Sussex

– 4:00 p.m. Kent

Results announced Saturday, May 4


– 12.30 – Liverpool

– 1.00 – South Yorkshire


– 1.00 – Epping Forest

Related Articles

Back to top button